Selected Web Resources for Computer Science
Organizations | Conferences | Federal Agencies | Directories | Indexes | Journals & Reports | Pre-Print Servers | Publishers | Standards | High Performance Computing | Super-computing Portals | Education | Reference | Info for Graduate Students
Resources are open to all users unless otherwise noted.
Organizations
- ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
- IEEE: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
- Students, see IEEE Student Concourse
- IEEE Computer Society
- International Society for Computers and their Applications
- Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
- International Society of Information Fusion
- SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics: Computational Science and Engineering
- Internet Society
Conferences
- Information Fusion 2005 | 2004: Proceedings | Fusion 2001: Conference Report
- ICCSA Conference 2005 (International Conference on Computational Science and its Applications) | IEEE Co-sponsor Site
- ICCS Conference 2007 (International Conference on Computational Science) | Previous Conferences
Federal Agencies and Research Centers
- CyberInfrastructure Partnership
- National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure (NPACI). Archive only.
- Alliance (National Computational Science Alliance)
- Federal National Laboratories
- National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center
- NASA Advanced Supercomputing Division (NAS). Develops "distributed heterogeneous computing capabilities" to enable NASA projects. Publishes Gridpoints magazine.
Web Directories
- Computing and Information Technology Interactive Digital Educational Library (CITIDEL)
- Academic Info: Computer Science and Engineering Gateway
- InfoMine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections: Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computing & Math
- Parascope. IEEE's listing of parallel computing sites.
- Computer Vision Research
Groups
UNR Computer Vision Laboratory - BUBL Link: Computer Science Education
- SUNY Brockport's Guide to Computational Science and Engineering Programs and Societies
- Computing & Computer Science. WWW Virtual Library
- Computers & Internet. Internet Public Library
- Google: Science » Technology » Computer Science » Academic Departments
- Yahoo's Index to Computer Science
Indexes to the Literature
- The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies. Search or browse over a million references from journal articles and conference proceedings, organized into broad topics. Monash University.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Mirror site for the LNCS database, v.1- present.
- Computer Science Bibliography. UCLA mirror of http://dblp.uni-trier.de/. Indexes major computer science journals and conferences.
Electronic Journals & Technical Reports
- UNR Electronic Journals: Computer Science. See also Electronic Journals: Computing. (UNR Users only)
- Legacy Directory of Computer Science Journals. Lists 500+ journals. Site is no longer active. Simon Fraser University.
- NCSTRL (Networked computer Science Technical Report Library). Full-text research reports and papers for non-commercial use from participating institutions.
- Virtual Technical Reports Center. University of Maryland.
- Computer Science: Technical Report Index. University of Indiana.
Pre-Print Servers
- arXiv.org e-Print archive (Los Alamos National Laboratory).
- Computing Research Repository (CoRR). Papers are available from 1993-present, classified by subject area and the 1998 ACM Computing Classification System
- Search Form Interface: Computer Science
- E-print Network. Searches multiple preprint servers. U.S.
Dept. of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information (DOE/OSTI).
- Search Forms
- Computer Technologies and Information Sciences. Links to a large number of preprint servers and to individuals who provide preprints.
Publishers
- Computing and Computer Science Publishers. Part of AcqWeb Directory of Publishers. Vanderbilt University.
- Google: Science Publishers
Standards
- NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards. Indexes standards from 600 organizations.
- American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
- NISO: National Information Standards Organization
- ISO: International Organization for Standardization
- ILI. Large inventory of technical standards for sale.
- Sources for Engineering Standards. DeLaMare Library, UNR.
High-Performance Computing
- Top 500 Supercomputer Sites. Statistics.
- AppleSeed. Personal parallel computing on a cluster Macs.
- Parallel Virtual Machine (PVM). Free software that allows a hetereogeneous collection of networked UNIX and/or NT computers to act as a single parallel computer.
- IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing. Organizational information. See Technical Areas for links to topical information.
- Parallel COMputing Portal (PCOMP). Peer-reviewed archive of links for high-performance parallel computing.
- Parallel Tools Consortium. Seeks to improve the usability and availability of parallel tools.
- Parascope. IEEE's listing of parallel computing sites.
- San Diego Supercomputer Center. University of California at San Diego.
- GridsWatch: Grid Computing Portal
- Argonne National Laboratory Mathematics and Computer Science Division
- Caltech Center for Advanced Computing Research
- TeraGrid. Joint effort of supercomputing centers to build and deploy the world's largest, fastest, most comprehensive, distributed infrastructure for open scientific research.
Supercomputing Portals
- Biology and Medicine
- Chemistry
- Engineering
- Physics and Astronomy
Education
- Computer Science Graduate School Programs - Masters, Ph.D
- SIAM Activity Group on Computational Science and Engineering (CS&E)
- Graduate Education for Computational Science and Engineering
- SUNY Brockport's Guide to Computational Science and Engineering Programs and Societies
- Engaging People in CyberInfrastructure. K-12 lesson plans, tutorials, educational simulations.
- Computational Science Education Project (CSEP). For advanced undergraduates and graduate students. Online textbook and tutorials for freely available networking and visualization software.
- Google Code for Educators. Tutorials, sample course content,
video lectures, curriculum search, and other materials created for CS educators.

Reference
- Computing Dictionary. TechTarget.com
- Linux Software Map. Boutell.com
- Calculators On-line Center. Comprehensive. Specifically, see Engineering: Electrical and Computer. Martindale's Reference Desk.
- Calculator.com. Scientific, time, currency, units.
- Metric Conversion.org. Site also includes physical constants, basic math and physics formulas.
- RGB Color Calculator
- FOLDOC: Free Online Dictionary of Computing. University of London, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine.
- Tucows. Shareware downloads and reviews