Selected Indexes to Publications of Federal Government Agencies
The following link researchers to various federal government bibliographic indexes/catalogs/databases that identify hundreds of thousands of government publications.
* indicates off-campus access available to UNR users only.
AGRICOLA - AGRICultural OnLine Access
Cancer.gov: A Service of the National Cancer Institute
Congressional Research Service Reports, Hosted by UNT Libraries
OpenCRS (Congressional Research Service Reports)
National Agricultural Law Center: Congressional Research Service
Reports
LexisNexis Congressional*
Lexis/Nexis Statistical Universe*
DOD Index of Specifications and Standards (DODISS)
DOE Information Bridge
Energy Citations Database (1948-present)
Energy Portal Search (DOE)
PrePRINT Network (DOE)
Federal R&D Project Summaries
DTIC - Scientific and Technical Information Network
Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval System (EDGAR)
EPA Information Resources
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Internet Site
ERIC - Educational
Resource Information Center*
ERIC - via Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Dept. of Education
Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve Economic
Research
General Accounting Office (GAO) Reports Online via GPO Access
Index to Military Periodicals
MoCat - Monthly Catalog of United
States Government Publications 1976- *
MoCat -- Catalog of US Government Publications 1994- (free from US GPO)
U.S. Government Online Bookstore (formerly PRF)
NARA ARC Archival Research Catalog (formerly NAIL)
Guide to Federal Records in the National
Archives of the United States (NARA)
NASA: Technical Report Server
NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
NTIS - National Technical Information Service (GRAI)*
NTIS GRAI -- free from NTIS/FedWorld.gov
Patent and Trademark Databases
PubMed - Advanced MEDLINE Search
Search USAID Documentation
U.S. Government Periodicals Index*
Water Resources Abstracts*
Annotated List of Indexes/Catalogs:
Monthly Catalog of United States
Government Publications*
Government Printing Office (G.P.O.) Index to several hundred thousand United States government publications on various
topics distributed by the GPO to depository libraries from 1976 to present.
U.S. Government Online Bookstore (formerly PRF)
This catalog serves as an index to government information products currently offered for sale by the Superintendent of
Documents. The SPC includes citations to forthcoming government information products as well as to titles which have
been recently superseded or gone out of print. This database is updated daily.
Federal R&D Project Summaries
Federal R&D Project Summaries provides a portal to information about Federal research projects, complete with
full-text single-query searching across databases residing at different agencies. The public may use this tool to
stay better informed as to how its investment in research and development is being utilized. It also provides a
unique window to the Federal research community, allowing agencies to better understand the research and development
efforts of their counterparts in government
LexisNexis Congressional*
Index to U.S. Congressional publications; text of bills, laws, regulations, Congressional testimony and
publications; legislative histories; members and committees of Congress. 1789 - present
LexisNexis Statistical Universe*
The world's most comprehensive index to statistical information resources published by the U.S. federal
government, U.S. state governments, and IGOs (international government organizations).
U.S. Government Periodicals Index
*
Index to articles published in U.S. Government periodicals from 1990 to the present.
Congressional Research Service Reports, Hosted by UNT Libraries
This site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been
available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990.
OpenCRS
Provides access to Congressional Research Service Reports that are in the public domain. Reports cover many public
policy topics.
ERIC - Educational
Resource Information Center*
ERIC provides references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi,
conference papers, and standards and guidelines from 1966 to the present.
ERIC - via Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Dept. of Education
Open-access version of ERIC, from the Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Dept. of Education, provides
more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004).
Energy Portal Search (DOE)
The EnergyPortal Search function allows users to search across the dispersed collections listed on the EnergyPortal
Search page. The current version of EnergyPortal Search makes multiple web sites and databases searchable and
viewable through one user interface.
Energy Citations Database
(1948-present)
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department
of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic
Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the
present, with continued growth through regular updates.
PrePRINT Network (DOE)
The Department of Energy's PrePRINT Network is a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and
technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Such disciplines include the great bulk of physics, materials, and
chemistry, as well as portions of biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine. With a single query, users
can search one or a selected set of existing preprint servers. The Network pulses the search engines of such
servers, compiles the results, and returns them to the users.
Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve
Economic Research
A growing number of documents are available in full-text format. Others, however, exist only in print.
NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150,000 criminal
justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal
articles, and unpublished research from 1970 to the present.
Index to Military Periodicals
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and
editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. This Index contains citations since 1990 and
is updated quarterly in combination with the hard copy version of Air University Library's Index to Military
Periodicals.
General Accounting Office (GAO) Reports Online via GPO Access
This database, sponsored by the U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO), contains all publicly released GAO reports
beginning with FY 1995.
NARA ARC Archival Research Catalog (formerly NAIL)
NAIL is the working prototype for a future online catalog of holdings in Washington, DC, the regional archives, and
the Presidential libraries. Until a full catalog is developed, NAIL will continue to serve as the NARA's on-line
information system. NAIL contains information about a wide variety of NARA's holdings across the country. Although
NAIL contains more than 3,000 microfilm publications descriptions, 400,446 archival holdings descriptions, and
124,000 digital copies, it represents only a limited portion of NARA's vast holdings.
Guide to Federal Records in the National
Archives of the United States (NARA)
This web version of the Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States is based on a paper
version with the same title compiled by Robert B. Matchette et al in 1995. This version incorporates descriptive
information about federal records acquired by the National Archives after the 1995 paper edition went to press, and
it is regularly updated to reflect new acquisitions of federal records.
Government Reports and Announcements Index (NTIS - National Technical Information Service)
The NTIS Database produced by the National Technical Information Service, is the preeminent resource for accessing the
latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related
information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from
research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.
1964 to present.
DOE Information Bridge
DOE Information Bridge, a component of EnergyFiles, provides free, convenient, and quick access to full-text DOE
research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy
technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. You now have over 2
million full-text pages at your fingertips. From 1996 to present.
Patent and Trademark Databases
Search databases of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. US Patent Bibliographic Database provides information on
patents issued since January 1, 1976. The AIDS Patent Database provides the full text and images of patents for
AIDS-related devices issued by Japanese, European, and U.S. patent offices. Depository libraries may have earlier
print and microfiche materials or current CD-ROMs to assist you. [SuDoc#: C 21.5/2 & C 21.31/2]. Database of all
active Trademarks. For more specialized assistance visit a Patent & Trademark Depository Library.
NASA: Technical Report Server
The CASI TRS database contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for publicly available aerospace documents,
journal articles, and conference proceedings. It is part of the NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS), which primarily
provides recent full-text reports produced by the NASA centers. The database is a selected portion of publicly
available materials from the NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Database. The CASI TRS database
contains over 2.2 million records. 1915 to the present.
DTIC - Scientific and Technical Information Network
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) Service helps
the DoD community access pertinent scientific and technical information to meet mission needs more effectively.
Public STINET gives you access to all unclassified, unlimited citations since 1985 from DTIC's Technical Reports
Collection. In addition to this feature, Secure STINET provides access to the limited distribution citations in
DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, all recently added unclassified, unlimited full text reports, the last 5 years
of active Technical Effort and Management (TEAMS) reports, gray literature information, a language translator, and
access to the British Library's inside web (U.S. Govt. only) and Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information's CISTI Source.
EPA Information Resources
The National Environmental Publications Information System began in 1997, to offer one stop shopping for over 6,000
full text, on line EPA documents.
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Internet Site
The National Environmental Publications Information System began in 1997, to offer one stop shopping for over 6,000
full text, on line EPA documents.
DOD Index of Specifications and Standards (DODISS)
DoD Index of Specifications and Standards (DODISS) lists the unclassified Federal and Military specifications,
standards, and related standardization documents, and those non-government standards adopted for DoD use.
PubMed - Advanced MEDLINE Search
The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily
from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE,
PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also
provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. It is expected that
access to additional National Library of Medicine databases will be added in the future. 1966 to present.
CANCERLIT: A Service of the National Cancer Institute
This bibliographic database provides access to over 1.3 million citations and abstracts from cancer literature. Over
4,000 sources are consulted, including biomedical journals, reports, proceedings, and theses, to create this
database, the content of which dates from 1963 to present. The National Cancer Institute updates CANCERLIT with more
than 8,000 records on a monthly basis.
AGRICOLA - AGRICultural OnLine Access
AGRICOLA is a machine-readable database of bibliographic records created by the National Agricultural Library and its
cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials dating
from the 16th century to the present. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of
agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water
resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices,
and food and nutrition.
Water Resources Abstracts*
Water Resources Abstracts covers 1967-1999.
Search USAID Documentation
The Development Experience System (DEXS) is a family of bibliographic databases that contains records for about
100,000 Agency technical and program documents. The purpose of the DEXS is to strengthen USAID's development
projects, activities, and programs by making these development experience documents available to USAID offices and
mission staff, other donor agencies, LDC government agencies, LDC institutions, and the public worldwide.